Autumn Colours

Clemence Skirt

Clemence Skirt Pockets

Clemence Skirt

This skirt has been a work in progress for almost a year, I started it last November when I was briefly unemployed and a couple of days after that it I got my current job, so left it half finished in my spare room. I figured since I wanted to pick up sewing again I would finish the project as I had everything I needed for it ready.

I’m really enjoying working through Love at First Stitch, before this I had made a pair of the Margot pyjamas and the Delphine skirt, as well as this Clemence skirt. I find the instructions really easy to use, as they break down every technique and stop me getting confused. Some of the patterns don’t fit into my style, but I’m looking forward to making the ones which do.

My favourite part about this skirt is definitely the pockets, in fact, I think being able to add pockets to most garments may be one of my motivating factors in learning how to make clothes… If I’d started making this skirt now, I would have chosen a different material, something less stiff so it’s not as bulky, and with a different print. However, I wore this for the rest of the day after taking these photos and I did enjoy the fox print and the autumnal colours, and it goes really well with my Kanken rucksack.

After we took these photos we went on a walk, because what’s nicer than wondering around Norwich on a slightly foggy November afternoon! I’ll leave you with these pictures of Cow Tower and the river, one of my favourite places in Norwich to visit.

IMG_0010

Norwich

Leave a Reply

