2016 Sewing Resolutions

2016 sewing resolutionsAgnes / Sea Wall / Moneta / Chuck

I started this year as I mean to go on, knitting on the train back from visiting friends in London. It was only at the end of 2015 that I got back into sewing and learnt how to knit, so I can’t really write a round up post, but I do want to look towards 2016 and set myself some sewing and knitting goals.

Learn how to sew jersey and knits, I wear mostly t-shirts and jersey dresses and I want to be able to learn how to sew these. I’ve just started making a Tilly and the Buttons Agnes top from Tilly’s learn how to sew jersey tops course which will hopefully be a good introduction.

Conquer my fear of zips as they confuse and scare me! When inserting an invisible zip I can’t seem to make it neat enough to really be invisible, but I can’t avoid them forever, and I know have to make mistakes to get better.

Sew a blouse or a shirt dress. I find the idea of sewing collars really daunting, I’m hoping that by setting myself this as a goal I’ll at least attempt a blouse this year.

Improve my knitting technique, I’ve only recently learnt how to knit and I want to explore different ways of knitting to make sure I’ve got the best technique I can. I currently knit using the English method of throwing the yarn and it makes my shoulder ache after a bit so I might switch to the continental method of knitting.

Learn how to cable knit, this is pretty self explanatory, but I really want to learn how to cable so I can make loads of exciting patterns. I have my eye on some of the Tin Can Knits patterns I downloaded during their 12 days of Christmas giveaway.

Knit a jumper or a cardigan. I love jumpers and cardigans and I really want to be able to knit them for myself. I got a set of interchangeable knitting needles for Christmas (thanks mum!) so I’m all set for knitting a jumper in 2016.

I hope that by setting myself some goals I can make some awesome things this year and learn loads along the way.

One thought on “2016 Sewing Resolutions

Leave a Reply

