January in review

What I loved:
I’m obsessed with this jacket, I just think it would be perfect for spring and autumn as an alternative to my denim jacket. I’m definitely not experienced enough yet to sew my own jacket, but I’ve got my eye on this pattern for when I do.

This outfit has everything I want from a handmade outfit, a loose fitting but still smart dress and a practical cardigan over the top. I’ve been contemplating the Inari tee dress pattern for ages, but I think I’ll wait until the weather warms up before I sew one.

On Friday afternoon two brilliant pairs of knitted socks came up on my feed, firstly these lovely socks from Tres Bien Ensemble and then these socks from Lladybird. I love the colours of both pairs, and the stitch pattern on the Skyp socks is great! I’m now convinced I need a Zauberball in my stash, and that I should probably finish the pair of socks I started for my partner…

What I listened to:
Planet Money – I listen to podcasts a lot on my commute and when I’m at work, Planet Money is one of the podcasts that I always listen to, no matter what. I think it’s because the subject, economics, impacts everyone but is not usually so simply explained. My favourite recent episodes are Bagging a Birkin and A or B.

A Playful Day – This knitting podcast was one of my recent discoveries that came with learning to knit. Kate is a great host to listen to during a frustrating day or waiting at the bus stop in the cold, because her soothing voice always transports me to a cottage near the sea and makes me feel much better.

Tiny House Podcast – I’ve recently become obsessed with the tiny house movement, and although there isn’t as many options here in the UK, I can still daydream about living in a tiny cabin in a forest or travelling the world in a house on the back of a trailer. I would recommend the interviews with Brittany Yunker and Abel Zimmerman.

What I was up to:
I planned this section in the hopes that I could share all the fun things I’ve got up to this month, but then I remembered it was January and the most interesting thing I did was probably the evening I spent failing to play badminton. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I always spend January curled up on the sofa watching TV or daydreaming about going on holiday somewhere sunny.

Mostly this month we’ve been watching The X-Files, we were trying to catch up before the new series started airing, but we haven’t quite done that. Theoretically I’ve seen the show before, but I can only remember odd episodes. That being said, I always seem to fall asleep during the mythology episodes, so that may be why!

What I’m planning:
As usual, I’m a bit late to the party, but my first project for February is a Camas blouse for the sew-along. I’ll be lagging behind a bit because I didn’t decided to do it until the sew-along had already started and I’ve only just ordered the fabric.

I have honestly been planning to make a Moneta dress for over a month but have had various problems getting hold of the fabric I wanted. Firstly it didn’t turn up so I had to get it sent again and when it did arrive it was different to the swatch I ordered, so I don’t know when I’ll actually be able to start this.

The last thing I’m planning isn’t sewing related, but my partner and I have planned a trip to Budapest for the beginning of March, so I’ll be planning what we’re going to do and see while we’re out there.

Leave a Reply

