Budapest Hat

My partner and I visited Budapest at the beginning of this month and in preparation I knitted a hat to wear, as the climate is usually a few degrees colder in the winter in Norwich. The pattern I used was Molly, a free hat with textured stitch and a lovely cable which continues right to the crown. I used Malabrigo Worsted in Frost Grey, as I figured it would go with most outfits, and the name was pretty appropriate.

The hat was pretty easy to knit, I decreased the stitches because my yarn was a bit thicker than suggested, which meant I had to freestyle a bit on the crown, but I made it into a spreadsheet and it went without a hitch. I really enjoyed knitting the hat, I tend to think of hats as short projects, for a couple of stints of TV watching, so I don’t mind if they require a little bit more concentration than socks. The only thing I had trouble with was the weight of the yarn coupled with using the circular needles for the body (rather than magic loop) meant my wrists hurt after a bit.

I love the finished hat so much, it’s squishy and comfy and warm, as well as looking pretty cool in its slouchy style. I wore it most of the time we were out and about in Budapest, but to be honest, the weather was much worse back home in Norwich. When we finally arrived in Norwich after our holiday was over, we had a miserable walk home from the coach station in the pouring rain. The weather hasn’t been any better since then, so I’m really glad I’ve got a new warm hat.

One thought on “Budapest Hat

Leave a Reply

