Causing a Buzz! Tilly and the Buttons Cleo Dress

IMG_9486
IMG_9487
IMG_9488

This is the Tilly and the Buttons Cleo dungaree dress, I started making it back in the spring, but by the time I finished it, the weather was too hot to wear it! It’s made from a yellow babycord I bought from ebay here, which was lovely to sew with. I completely forgot about the knap when I was cutting out the fabric, but luckily I’d cut both the front and the back in the same direction!

I really enjoyed sewing the dress, as the construction was simple I could focus on the small details like the topstitching. I finished the bee embroidery on the front pocket before I started making the dress, which meant that I could attach the pocket at the right time. After I’d started sewing the dress, I found a Singer 127k sewing machine in my local Oxfam shop for £20, after I’d got it home and working again I used it to do some of the topstitching.

The t-shirt I’m wearing is also me made, I got the fabric from the fabric swap at the Sewing Weekender in 2016, and used it to make a self-drafted t-shirt about a year ago. I think it looks cute and a little twee with the bee on the dress!

IMG_8744

Leave a comment